Veterinary Medicine

History – Department of  Veterinary Medicine
Prof. J. E.Onu
Dr. Uduak Akpabia

Head of Department

The Department started in 2008 with late Prof. L. O. Wosu, a contract staff, as Head of Department and sole staff .   In January, 2009  Prof.  M. C. O. Ezeibe  came  on sabbatical . In  2010 Prof.  Adene joined on contract.  In the same year the first set of permanent staff  Dr(Mrs) R.I. O. Nwaoha and late Dr. Adanma Nwaigwe were employed. Prof. A. B  Ogukoya  also came on sabbatical leave that year while Prof. Ezeibe came back as an adjunct staff.

When both Prof. Adene and Prof. Wosu decided to leave in 2011, Dr. L. J.E. Orajaka was invited to take over as second HOD . In that same 2011, three academic staff:  Dr.  E. Y. Tchokote, Dr.  J. B. C. Okonkwo and Dr. E. A.  Adenaike were employed.  In 2013, Prof .  Ezeibe assumed as a permanent staff and as third HOD for the Department. Also in that 2013 Dr(Mrs). M. U. Ememe, Dr(Mrs). I. J. Ogbonna, Dr(Mrs) N.K Okwara and Dr. C. S. Ukwueze were employed as permanent staff while Prof. T. U. Obi came as a contract staff. Prof. C. D. Ezeokoli came on contract in 2014. Dr(Mrs) M. E Sanda has been employed, this 2018, as an Associate Professor . Dr. Orajaka disengaged in 2013 while Prof. Obi and Prof. Ezeokoli disengaged in 2017.

First laboratory technologist of the Department was Mr. Jonathan Ekwuruke who was a contract staff. When he disengaged in 2016 Miss  Chiamaka Alex-Okoroafor , Mr. Chidiebere Nwachukwu and Mrs N. H. Chikezie were sent to replace him but since  June 2017  employment of all the three  lab-technologists has been on suspension and nobody has been sent to act for them. Only Mr. Charles Ugwu, Laboratory Assistant is in the lab presently.