History of the Department- Theriogenology

The Department started as a unit under Veterinary Surgery and Reproduction in 2008 with Dr Joseph Omomagbe as the acting head of department who was later replaced by Dr Rock Ukahaand then Dr Ayobami Raheem before splitting into Department of Veterinary Surgery & Radiology and Department of Theriogenology in the year 2017. Presently, the acting HOD is Dr Ayobami Raheem while the Departmental offices and laboratory are located at Block J of the College of Veterinary Medicine, MOUAU. The Department is endowed with competent and dedicated academic and other supporting staff. The postgraduate programme of Department commenced in 2015 and offers Master of Veterinary Science (MVSc) and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degrees in the following areas of specialty (i) Veterinary Andrology and Artificial Insemination, (ii) Veterinary Gynecology, (iii) Veterinary Obstetrics and (iv) Reproductive biotechnology.